Connect with us

VIDEO GAMES

Game of the week: Star Wars – Jedi Fallen Order

Pierre Waterschoot

Published

le

Disney/Lucas Film/The Guardian

Star Wars video game fans are eagerly awaiting a jaunt through their favorite galaxy in the best traditions of action-adventure gaming, and Jedi Fallen Order indeed delivers.

It has the ancient ruins of mystical past civilizations seamlessly blended with the crushed hulks of lightning-fast spaceships; the militaristic, sterile, black and red halls of the Empire, with sliding doors that quickly open onto lush landscapes. Alien life lurks everywhere, some cutesy, some deadly.

Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order

Every planet – but especially the icy, windswept stone villages of Zeffo that are overrun by stormtroopers – could be a Star Wars movie setting. And Cal Kestis is a model Jedi protagonist – an apparent lonely, sullen person in the armpit of the galaxy whose fate is suddenly redirected to heroism. Her adorable droid companion, BD-1, clings to her back, chirps in robotic language and helps her with holographic cards and the occasional wisdom. Maybe he was the runt of the R2-D2 litter.

The game is set in a time that Obi-Wan Kenobi called the "dark times," years before Luke Skywalker brought new hope to the galaxy. Most members of the Jedi Order, who once served as intergalactic blue helmets, are either dead or in hiding. The nascent Empire prospers.

A former child Padawan apprentice who never completed his training, Kestis lives a solitary life on the planet Bracca, ditching starships for credits. But soon, the Inquisitorius, a squad of force-sensitive professional Jedi hunters, hunts him down. In the opening scenes, Kestis flees before being rescued by an ancient Jedi master (and more complex Fallen Order character) Cere Junda. Together, aided by Greez, a four-armed alien pilot with a gambling addiction and a bounty on his head, they seek to rebuild the Jedi Order.

star wars jedi fallen order wallpaper

Does it sound like stories and characters you've seen before? That's because Fallen Order is a concoction of everything Star Wars has produced so far. With so many expectations, few risks were taken. The game's developer, Respawn Entertainment, has worked closely with Disney-owned Lucasfilm, which keeps a tight leash on any Star Wars product.

Not only does it strictly adhere to the franchise's motifs, but Fallen Order also plays it safe on the gameplay side, bringing together some of the most successful features from other video games rather than charting its own path. Lightsaber combat is heavily influenced by 2018 hit God of War, which innovated to make every ax fight feel heavy and dangerous, and Dark Souls, where every enemy is defeated in a different way. These influences are welcome: Kestis has never been properly trained in the force, and his first tries are difficult enough.

star wars jedi fallen order wallpaper

Still, it's a game that will occasionally thrill on a PlayStation 4, which could do with a little extra hyperdrive fuel to keep it running. Or maybe Respawn needed another month or two for the polish. Sometimes encounters seem unfair because Kestis is slow, and it's hard to tell if that's by design or design flaw.

Levels are complex, multi-layered and difficult to navigate, with hidden rooms and shortcuts – a nod to Tomb Raider, Uncharted and Metroidvania games. As Kestis' journey progresses, he may unlock new areas, and I urge you to return to old planets as certain key items, including "boosters" that double your health, cannot be picked up. only during reruns. When you're in a tricky boss fight, you'll be grateful.

Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order

Whether you like Fallen Order may depend on your view of the more recent Star Wars movies. If you're a fan of Force Awakens directed by JJ Abrams, a film that lovingly and religiously captured George Lucas' original feel, then Fallen Order will light you up with the force that binds us all together. For those who preferred Rian Johnson's new take on The Last Jedi, a film that takes risks, breaks taboos, and even challenges the saga's entire premise, then Fallen Order will seem a bit too simple.

Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order

Reviving a much-loved and much-missed Star Wars genre, Fallen Order does exactly what it set out to do. It hits the bar, but then stops, with a set of characters and adventures that aren't particularly intriguing or fresh, but certainly feel like they've come from this very particular galaxy, far, far away.

Oliver Holmes for The Guardian

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order – Official Reveal Trailer

Continue reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Trendy

Translate »

Connect with us

JEUX-VIDÉO

Le jeu de la semaine : Star Wars – Jedi Fallen Order

Pierre Waterschoot

Publié

le

Disney / Lucas Film / The Guardian

Les fans de jeux vidéo Star Wars attendent avec impatience une escapade à travers leur galaxie préférée dans les meilleures traditions du jeu d’action-aventure et Jedi Fallen Order y parvient effectivement.

Il a les ruines antiques des civilisations passées mystiques mélangées de façon transparente avec les carcasses écrasées des vaisseaux spatiaux ultra-rapides; les salles militaristes, stériles, noires et rouges de l’Empire, avec des portes coulissantes qui s’ouvrent rapidement sur des paysages luxuriants. La vie extraterrestre se cache partout, certaines mièvres, d’autres mortelles.

star wars jedi fallen order

Chaque planète – mais surtout les villages de pierre glacés et balayés par le vent de Zeffo qui sont envahis par les stormtroopers – pourrait être un décor de film Star Wars . Et Cal Kestis est un protagoniste Jedi modèle – une personne apparente solitaire et maussade dans l’aisselle de la galaxie dont le destin est soudainement redirigé vers l’héroïsme. Son adorable compagnon droïde, BD-1, s’accroche sur son dos, gazouille dans le langage du robot et l’aide avec des cartes holographiques et de la sagesse occasionnelle. Peut-être était-il l’avorton de la portée R2-D2.

Le jeu se déroule à une époque qu’Obi-Wan Kenobi appelait les «temps sombres», des années avant que Luke Skywalker n’apporte un nouvel espoir à la galaxie. La plupart des membres de l’Ordre Jedi, qui servaient autrefois de casques bleus intergalactiques, sont morts ou se cachent. L’Empire naissant prospère.

Ancien enfant apprenti Padawan qui n’a jamais terminé sa formation, Kestis mène une vie solitaire sur la planète Bracca, abandonnant les vaisseaux spatiaux pour des crédits. Mais bientôt, l’Inquisitorius, une escouade de chasseurs Jedi professionnels sensibles à la force, le traque. Dans les scènes d’ouverture, Kestis s’enfuit avant d’être sauvé par un ancien maître Jedi (et le personnage plus complexe de Fallen Order) Cere Junda. Ensemble, aidés par Greez, un pilote extraterrestre à quatre bras avec une dépendance au jeu et une prime sur sa tête, ils cherchent à reconstruire l’Ordre Jedi.

star wars jedi fallen order wallpaper

Cela ressemble-t-il à des histoires et à des personnages que vous avez déjà vus? C’est parce que Fallen Order est une concoction de tout ce que Star Wars a produit jusqu’à présent. Avec tant d’attentes, peu de risques ont été pris. Le développeur du jeu, Respawn Entertainment , a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec Lucasfilm, propriété de Disney, qui garde une laisse étroite sur tout produit Star Wars.

Non seulement il respecte scrupuleusement les motifs de la franchise, mais Fallen Order joue également la sécurité du côté du gameplay, rassemblant certaines des fonctionnalités les plus réussies d’autres jeux vidéo plutôt que de tracer son propre chemin. Le combat au sabre laser est fortement influencé par le hit de 2018, God of War , qui a innové pour que chaque combat à la hache se sente lourd et dangereux, et Dark Souls , où chaque ennemi est vaincu d’une manière différente. Ces influences sont les bienvenues : Kestis n’a jamais été correctement entraîné dans la force, et ses premiers essais sont suffisamment difficiles.

star wars jedi fallen order fond d'écran

Pourtant, c’est un jeu qui fera parfois frémir sur une PlayStation 4 , ce qui pourrait faire avec un peu de carburant hyperdrive supplémentaire pour le faire fonctionner. Ou peut-être que Respawn avait besoin d’un autre mois ou deux pour le polissage. Parfois, les rencontres semblent injustes parce que Kestis est lent, et il est difficile de dire si c’est par conception ou par défaut de conception.

Les niveaux sont complexes, multicouches et difficiles à naviguer, avec des pièces cachées et des raccourcis – un clin d’œil aux jeux Tomb Raider, Uncharted et Metroidvania . Au fur et à mesure que le voyage de Kestis progresse, il peut débloquer de nouvelles zones, et je vous exhorte à retourner sur d’anciennes planètes car certains éléments clés, y compris les «stimulants» qui doublent votre santé, ne peuvent être récupérés que lors des rediffusions. Lorsque vous êtes dans un combat de boss délicat, vous serez reconnaissant.

star wars jedi fallen order

Que vous aimiez Fallen Order peut dépendre de votre vision des films Star Wars les plus récents. Si vous êtes un fan de Force Awakens réalisé par JJ Abrams , un film qui a capturé avec amour et religion la sensation originale de George Lucas, alors Fallen Order vous illuminera avec la force qui nous lie tous. Pour ceux qui ont préféré la nouvelle version de Rian Johnson dans The Last Jedi , un film qui prend des risques, brise les tabous et remet même en question toute la prémisse de la saga, alors Fallen Order semblera un peu trop simple.

star wars jedi fallen order

En relançant un genre Star Wars très apprécié et très manqué, Fallen Order fait exactement ce qu’il s’était fixé. Il atteint la barre, mais s’arrête ensuite, avec un ensemble de personnages et d’aventures qui ne sont pas particulièrement intrigants ou frais, mais qui ont certainement l’impression de venir de cette galaxie très particulière, très, très lointaines.

Olivier Holmes pour The Guardian

Star Wars Jedi : Fallen Order – Officiel Reveal Trailer

Continuer la lecture
Cliquez pour commenter

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Advertisement

Tendance

Translate »